When they started demolishing Aux Vieux Barils on Arthur-Sauvé in Laval Ouest in the winter of 2014, many residents, like me, probably got excited at the prospect of a new restaurant being built. The building was starting to show its age and it wasn’t a place I frequented. But for others, it was a sad time for Laval-Ouest as it was an end of another local landmark.
1

Talking with the locals, mostly the men, had fond memories of going to Aux Vieux Barils which had been the local tavern in the 60ees (yup, no women allowed back then) it then became what we call a “resto-bar” thereafter. That’s almost 50 years of history. From what I hear of Phil’s grandmother, the Salisbury steak wasn’t all that bad either!

Regardless of how we felt about the old landmark (good or bad), everyone would agree that the new business that replaced it, La Reserve Brasserie Traditionnelle, definitely upgrades the area.

2 3
So who comes to La Reserve? On my last couple visit, I put on my investigation hat and did my little tour of the tables next to me an low and behold, very few were from Laval-Ouest. People seemed to come from all over: Oka, Mirabel, St-Jerome, Laval-sur-le-Lac, St-Eustache and even a table from Russia (long story)! Many told me they were regular clients who come back for the great food, while others said it was their first time and they were really impressed and were definitely going to come back.
So if you haven’t been yet, I give you 10 reasons to discover (or rediscover) La Reserve brasserie traditionnelle:

1. It’s a hip, happening place, à la Centropolis, but without the crazy parking

They did a great job with the ambiance that feels hip yet relaxed at the same time. Their website says their space is “friendly, authentic and non-pretentious”. Sounds about right.
4

2. You can go for a full sit down meal or just a drink

I was impressed with how varied the menu was. There is really something for everyone and a decent wine list too. If you are coming just for a drink, you’ll find a lighter menu to snack on. Oh, and free, unlimited popcorn. (Note: the kitchen is not open during all hours, so make sure to check the restaurant hours here.)
5 6

3. They have an amazing menu with beautiful presentations

Executif Chef, Philip Doucet, describes his type of menu as being “Pub Bistro” and is continually being renewed. He is constantly seeking new cooking techniques and new combination of flavours.
7
Their flank steak is definetly on the top of the list of things to try first (Chantal approved) but there is a lot more to discover like their salmon or beef tartar, Portuguese chicken and bam-bam shimp just to name a few.
8 9

4. It’s a great place for parties or groups

La Reserve has a second floor that can hold private parties of up to 60 people. Plus there are other nooks and crannies for you to have a pretty intimate group. Very cool.

10
5. They have great promotions

4-7 happy hours is not the only amazing was to save money at La Reserve. For example they have a few times during the week where you can try the flank steak at a reduced price.
dimanche

6. You can go on a budget or splurge.

Weather your want to eat a 9$ spaghetti with a $3 beer or a $35 filet mignon, La Reserve has you covered.
12

7. To listen to the hockey game on the big tv

La Reserve, like most Quebeckers, like their hockey. That’s why they have special promotions on hockey nights (Tuesdays and Wednesdays). Did I mention it was next door to a hockey arena?
13

8. No kids

This is a strict 18+ bar. So for some of you this is not a positive thing, but for most people wanting to hang out in a bar, it is.

14
9. The staff.

One of the most recurring comments on TripAdvisor, Google and La Reserve’s Facebook page is the amazing service. “Frendly” and “warm” came up a lot. The staff really is friendly. It’s always a good sign. It explains the very low staff turnover that they’ve had since opening in 2014.
15

10. It’s got history

The owners Sophie Thelen and Dominique Daoust (second generation owners) were also the owners of Aux Vieux Barils for the past 30 years. After working and planning 3 whole years, getting all the right permits, getting the OK for the residential neighbors, dealing with the city of Laval which was under a new administration, a lot of work went into the amazing transformation.  I think I speak for (almost all) of Laval-Ouest residents when I say a huge THANK YOU for upgrading our neighborhood.

image1-003

By Chantal Vaillancourt

Leave a comment

  • This field is required
  • Invalid (ex: 555-666-1234 or 5556661234)
  • Invalid (ex: H7K 3G4 or H7K3G4)

-par Chantal Vaillancourt

C’est durant l’hiver de 2014 qu’ils ont démoli le Resto-Bar “Aux Vieux Barils” sur Arthur-Sauvé à Laval-Ouest et je pense que plusieurs, comme moi, en étaient contents. Pas de voir une bâtisse être démolie, mais l’excitation d’une nouvelle construction et d’un beau commerce flambant neuf pour renouveler notre quartier.

1

Pour d’autres par contre, il y a eu un petit pincement au cœur. Voyez-vous, le Resto-Bar “Aux Vieux Barils” était l’un de ces commerces qui faisaient en quelque sorte partie du patrimoine de Laval-Ouest et de la vie de plusieurs résidents depuis presque cinquante ans.

Les plus anciens du quartier se rappelleront les années soixante, où Aux Vieux Barils était une vraie taverne (eh oui une taverne: pas de femmes permises!). C’est dans les années 70 que l’emplacement devint plutôt un resto-bar (yay pour les femmes!). Mais de ce que j’ai compris, on y conserva une clientèle plutôt masculine jusqu’à sa fin. (À part la grand-mère à Philippe qui apparemment aimait bien leur hamburger steak…).

Qu’on ait été des clients du vieux resto ou non, on doit tous être d’accord pour dire que la brasserie qui l'a remplacé, La Reserve, a définitivement amélioré le look du boulevard Arthur-Sauvé.

2 3

Qui fréquente actuellement la Reserve? À mes dernières visites, j’ai joué un peu à l’investigatrice en interviewant la clientèle attablée. Une chose qui m’a un peu (mais pas vraiment) surprise est que la plupart n’étaient pas de Laval-Ouest. J’ai jasé avec des gens d’Oka, de Mirabel, de Laval-sur-le-Lac, de St-Jérome, de Saint-Eustache et même une table de gens de la Russie (longue histoire)! Plusieurs m’ont dit qu’ils revenaient régulièrement pour l’excellente bouffe tandis que d’autres m’ont dit que c’était leur première fois et qu’ils étaient agréablement surpris et qu’ils allaient définitivement revenir.

Donc si vous ne la connaissiez pas encore, voici 10 raisons de découvrir (ou peut-être même redécouvrir) La Réserve, Brasserie Traditionelle:

1. On se penserait au Centropolis, mais sans chercher du parking

Ils y ont mis le paquet pour rendre l’ambiance branchée, mais décontractée. Leur site web décrit leur espace comme étant “convivial, authentique, mais sans prétention”… ce qui résume très bien notre expérience.

4

2. On y mange un gros repas ou on y vient juste pour prendre un verre

En plus d’avoir un menu suffisamment varié pour plaire à tous, La Réserve à un cellier assez garni. Allez voir leur liste de vin ici.

Et si vous venez pour un simple verre, vous trouverez un menu casse-croute et du pop-corn gratuit à volonté. (Note: la cuisine n’est pas toujours ouverte le jour, vaut mieux noter ses heures sur leur site web ici.

5 6

3. Leur menu est fabuleux et leur présentation est juste "wow"

Le Chef exécutif, Philip Doucet, décrit son type de menu comme étant “Pub Bistro” et est en constante recherche de nouvelles techniques et de nouvelles combinaisons de saveurs.

7

Leur bavette de boeuf est définitivement sur le top de la liste de plat à essayer (j’ai testé et je recommande fortement!), mais il y a tellement à découvrir: les tartares, le poulet portugais, crevettes bam-bam, pogo saucisses merguez, et j’en passe.

8 9

Le Journal de Montréal recommande le tartare! Lire…

4. On y accueille bien les groupes

La mezzanine peut contenir des groupes privés de 60 personnes. De plus, il y a plein de racoins ici et là pour des petits groupes intimes pour toutes sortes d’occasions.

10

5. Leurs promotions

Plus que juste des 4-7, suivez leur page Facebook pour rester à l’affut de toutes leurs promotions, par exemple la bavette de boeuf à prix réduit.

dimanche

Voir les promotions en cours ici.

6. Vous pouvez venir avec un petit budget ou vous gâter royalement

Le menu est suffisamment varié pour quelqu’un qui veut manger un spag à 9$ ou un filet mignon à 35$ ou n’importe quoi entre les deux.

12

Voir le menu ici.

7. Pour écouter le match de hockey sur leur écran géant

Comme la plupart des Québécois, La Reserve aime son sport national. Ils ont d’ailleurs plusieurs promotions liées avec les soirées de hockey.

Ai-je mentionné qu’ils sont situés à côté d’une aréna?

13

Narcity a même nommé La Reserve dans sa liste des 9 meilleurs spots pour écouter le hockey sur la Rive-NordLire…

8. Pas d'enfants…

La Reserve est strictement 18 ans et plus. Pour certains c’est une déception… mais pour la majorité des gens qui recherche une sortie sans les enfants, c’est parfait.

14

9. Le personnel

Un des commentaires les plus récurrents sur TripAdvisor, Google Review et La page Facebook est le service. “Amical” et “chaleureux” sont des termes qui semblent revenir souvent dans les commentaires des visiteurs. Toujours bon signe quand les employés sont de bonne humeur. Cela expliquerait le peu de roulement de personnel qu’ils ont depuis leur ouverture en 2014.

15

10. C'est une place avec de l’histoire

Entreprise familiale depuis 30 ans, Aux Vieux Barils, et maintenant La Réserve, est sous la commande de Sophie Thelen et Dominique Daoust. Ils ont eu une vision qui a dû leur prendre 3 ans de préparation afin d’obtenir tous les permis nécessaires et l’approbation des voisins résidentiels autour de la brasserie et tout cela durant un changement d’administration à la ville de Laval. Je pense que je parle pour tout le quartier quand je dis: MERCI d’avoir renouvelé notre secteur!

image1-003

 

maisonlaval

Par Chantal Vaillancourt
Laissez-nous un commentaire
  • Ce champ est requis
  • Invalide (ex: 555-666-1234 ou 5556661234)
  • Invalide (ex: H7K 3G4 ou H7K3G4)